3 months to myself

My boyfriend is now taking his final course for his electrical apprenticeship! Although he is in a different town, I’m going to make the most of it. I have 3 months to myself, And I am going to really get into the zero waste and try to cut down more if not totally reduce my waste. It will be easier to buy things without packaging since I don’t have to consider anyone else’s wants.

Most, if not all, my waste is from food packaging right now. I know that I will have to make switches like tofu for beans (which I can buy from bulk) or make something from scratch instead of buying it pre made.

This week, I didn’t do as well as I had hoped, I had the following packages: vegan cream cheese and cheese packs (making homemade spinach dip), as well as the strawberries container, the shrink wrap from the cucumber and three ties from the spinach. The jar from the pickles, paper from the French bread (which can be composted) and lastly the produce stickers!
Eventually I would like to make my own pickles, but it isn’t feasible right now. The cream cheese, strawberries and cucumber packs are things that can’t be avoided, but I don’t buy very often anyways.

So after (a long overdue) house cleaning, I finally have all my junk and old papers lying around, in order or thrown into the compost. I also took another small load to the Salvation Army. Now I shouldn’t have to throw out anything anything else.

So I would say this week so far has been a success! Slowly but surely my piles of random stuff that I no longer need or want is dwindling!

Leave a Reply

