My Low Waste Cooking Series #2: Lasagna Soup

Recently I did a post about zero waste Peanut Butter. I got so many views and good responses, I decided to keep going with other recipes that are zero waste or low waste to create.

Introducing: My Low Waste Cooking Series #2: Lasagna Soup!

This is my second time cooking this and always with great enthusiasm from the eaters!

The recipe is:

1 28oz can of diced tomatoes

Italian seasonings (I used about 3 TBSP)

1-2 28oz can of veggie broth (I filled up the tomato can with water and added powdered broth)

1 lb of meat or meat substitute/beans (I used Yves meatless grounds)

1 med yellow Onions

1 tbsp of olive oil

2 cloves of garlic.

1 small can of tomato paste.

And of course Lasagna noodles (I used about 10)

Top with cheese if you’re not vegan or you have a great vegan cheese (I found it just as delicious without either)

You could also serve with garlic toast!

*this is my easier version of this recipe*

The Verdict: I came out with 2 pieces of packaging with this one. I had an already opened can of tomato sauce I used in place of the tomato paste. The rest I was able to get unpackaged. I will eventually have a container from the veggie stock and olive oil.

The plastic piece is from the Yves meatless crumbles, which I could have gotten rid of by using a can of beans instead, but the boyfriend likes the crumbles. I could have also went a couple steps farther and cooked beans from dried in bulk, and canned my own tomatoes or used fresh ones. All were possible but were too much work or unrealistic for me at the moment.

IMG_1844

Yum! The (almost) finished project!IMG_1845

Leave a Reply

